Red pepper

It was fully my intention to keep up with this blog on a weekly basis. Specifically on Sundays, because my other favorite blog “Postsecret” also posts on Sundays, and reading it reminds me that I need to post something too. Unfortunately, I get lost in trying to tell you something inspiring or worthwhile, and end up not saying anything at all. Perhaps that is how I am in life though too. Its rather unfortunate actually, because I’m probably robbing the world (or a few people) of a good little something, even if it is not entirely significant. But even a little piece of red pepper can make you teary eyed. I know that from experience…

I’m a bit lost, not just with what to start this blog about, but also in my head and in my heart. Luckily I do know one thing. I’m in Santiago, Chile, South America. So at least I got that going for me, eh? I’m not sure I want to get vulnerable with this topic on the internet, so I’m going to talk about something else for a minute and maybe get back to it later…

Perhaps some of you are wondering how my Bolivia trip went… Great!! Mark and I met a lot of great people and saw a lot of projects that could become potential Bright Hope partners. The trip was exhausting, but entirely worth the sleepiness, high altitude headaches, long bus rides with no bathrooms, and numerous meetings every day. I ate lamb, cow tongue, utter, and other things I can’t remember for the first time. I also decided to be a little braver with the language, but ended up telling someone I had 24 brothers and that I was getting married in November. What I meant to say was that I was 24 years old and that I was returning home in November. That’s the same thing right? In general, people in Bolivia speak slower and clearer compared to the people in Chile, so I was able to understand a lot more than I usually can understand here. Well, except for that minor 24 brothers/getting married thing, of course. Since the trip, I’ve been working on getting information from the Bolivian projects and putting checklists and reports together so that we can move forward with the partnering process. Lots of work, but more inspiring to do after having been in Bolivia and seen the projects more directly. Check out the pictures and reports I posted on my facebook profile! Mark goes back on Wednesday with some people from Willow Creek…Keep them in your prayers as they travel around and meet with people!

And here’s the truth: I’m not in my comfort zone. I’m not quite myself. I feel a little homesick a little more every day. I’m also a bit lonely. So for those reasons and a few others, sometimes I wonder what I’m doing here.

But maybe sometimes being uncomfortable is right where you are suppose to be… at least for a little while. The stretch always hurts at first, but the leap afterwards makes it all worthwhile.

Alright folks, that’s enough deep introspection for now…

Until next week,

Chao!

PS: Someone eat some deep dish pizza for me and tell me how it is. That has got to be my first meal when I get back!

~ by walkaroundtheworld on August 17, 2009.

5 Responses to “Red pepper”

  1. What is your address, I will mail you some lou malnati’s and portillo’s

  2. All the streching made you a beautiful dancer! Just imagine…

    PS: Haven’t ordered deep dish since you left. It just doesn’t seem right without you here. MISSING YOU!!!!

  3. Give me a grand and I’ll freaking bring you pizza

  4. Hang in there Babe! You’re doing great things and sometimes you have to be away from home to know it’s home. (I know cheesy but that’s all I got) lol Miss you lots! Keep’em com’in.

  5. Rosey, it’s a date when you get back. Deep dish pizza and a homecoming gathering, (maybe at the Elworth’s)

Leave a comment